AnchorInTraining's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

A very exciting day at the news station!

leave a comment »

First off, let me say that I am a little concerned because my post from yesterday and a few others has magically disappeared.  This is especially discerning as I have no backup file…

Yesterday, I spent the day reporting.  I was on the scene with a camera man and reporter talking about a local girl that was missing, but was at this point found!  I watched as the camera man got everything ready for the live shot, and was with them as we had difficulty with the microphone.  Fortunately, they were able to come back to us and the live shot was submitted successfully.

Today was a very exciting day!

I was in the newsroom when we heard over the police scanner that there had been a shooting in Shreveport.  As our news director was sending a crew to cover this story, the scanner uncovered more breaking news.  A car matching the discription of the shooter from the first incident had been spotted right down the road. 

The other intern and I rushed to get on the scene to try to capture some pictures to submit to the station.  Unfortunately, upon our arrival and meeting up with the camera man, the suspect shot himself.

It was very busy and we were on the scene to watch as the crime scene was marked off and cleared.  This all took place in the middle of noon traffic.  We were instructed by police to leave, but the police spokesperson did allow a crew to complete an on the scene live shot.

Being in the newsroom while news comes in is the best part of this internship.  Watching and hearing news unfold is very exciting. 

I spent the remainder of the day assisting the producers for the later shows.  Hopefully tomorrow I will be able to capture some film of myself for my portfolio.

Alleigha Cross Procell

Written by anchorintraining

July 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

